1. Home
  2. Continuing Airworthiness
  3. Part-66
  4. Procedure for the issue of an aircraft maintenance licence by the competent authority

Procedure for the issue of an aircraft maintenance licence by the competent authority


66.B.100(a) EASA Form 19 submission

On receipt of EASA Form 19 and any supporting documentation, the competent authority shall verify EASA Form 19 for completeness and ensure that the experience claimed meets the requirement of this Annex (Part-66).

66.Β.100(b) Applicant verification

The competent authority shall verify an applicant’s examination status and/or confirm the validity of any credits to ensure that all module requirements of Appendix I or Appendix VII, as applicable, have been met as required by this Annex (Part-66).

I already hold a Part-66 licence and I would like to include an additional basic (sub)category? Which additional (sub)modules are required to be passed for the addition of that new (sub)category?

According to 66.B.100(b), the competent authority shall verify that all required modules of Appendix I or Appendix VII to Part-66 related to that new (sub)category sought are met. Credit can be granted as regards to the basic knowledge of the (sub)category for which the licence has been already issued.

This means that a comparison of the basic knowledge (gap analysis) will have to be done between the different (sub)categories. Such a comparison has not been yet done once and for all in Commission Regulation (EU) No 1321/2014 due to the different potential cases (wide diversity of (sub)categories).

Therefore, such a comparison should be done by the Member State that has already issued the Part-66 licence before the applicant is enrolled in such a “gap” basic knowledge course.

Please contact your competent authority, which may have already performed this comparison. Some competent authorities may have already posted such comparison(s) on their websites; however, to be sure that the comparison relevant to your case is acceptable to the competent authority who issued your licence.

In addition, the applicant will have to comply with the additional experience requirements for the new (sub)category sought, as detailed in Appendix IV to Part-66.

From B1.1 to B2. Module 7A is different for B1 and B2 in Submodule 7A.4.
LBA has defined that the applicant have to pass the Submodule 7A.4 (8 MCQs). If the applicant has passed the full M7A for the B2, then the application will be rejected because it does not necessarily mean that he/she has passed the M7A.4 sub.
Another Member State may not have issued specific instructions, thus the applicant may apply for the conversion to B2 with a CofR in M7A.

66.B.100(c) AML issuance

When having verified the identity and date of birth of the applicant and being satisfied that the applicant meets the standards of knowledge and experience required by this Annex (Part-66), the competent authority shall issue the relevant aircraft maintenance licence to the applicant. The same information shall be kept on competent authority records.

66.B.100(d) First aircraft rating

In the case where aircraft types or groups are endorsed at the time of the issuance of the first aircraft maintenance licence, the competent authority shall verify compliance with point 66.B.115.

AMC 66.B.100 Reduction- credits

  1. Applicants claiming the maximum reduction in 66.A.30(a) total experience based upon successful completion of a 147.A.200 approved basic training course should include the Part-147 certificate of recognition for approved basic training.
  2. Applicants claiming reduction in 66.A.30(a) total experience based upon successful completion of training considered relevant by the competent authority as a skilled worker in a technical trade, should include the relevant certificate of successful completion of training.
  3. Applicants claiming credit against the 66.A.30(a) total experience requirement by virtue of 66.A.30(a) non-civil aircraft maintenance experience may only be granted such credit where the Member State has recognised such non-civil aircraft maintenance experience. The competent authority in recognising non-civil aircraft maintenance experience should have specified who within the non-civil environment may make a statement that the applicant has met relevant maintenance experience. The applicant should include a detailed statement of such maintenance experience signed by the non-civil maintenance authority in accordance with the conditions specified by the competent authority.
  4. The competent authority should check that the experience record satisfies above paragraphs in terms of content and the countersigning signature.

66.B.100 to 115

Aircraft type endorsement should use the standard codes contained in Appendix I to the AMCs.

GM 66.B.100 Aircraft group ratings endorsement

At the issue or renewal of a B2L licence:

— one or several system ratings; and
— one or several group/subgroup ratings,

should be endorsed on the licence (EASA Form 26).

A licences should be issued with a subcategory without type ratings.

B1, B2 and C licences may be issued without an aircraft type or group rating.

B2L licences may be issued without an aircraft type or group rating. The B2L licence should always be issued with at least one system rating. This is based on the demonstrated initial experience that at least should be sufficient to endorse one system rating.

B3 licences should be issued with the rating ‘piston engine non-pressurised aeroplanes of 2 000 kg MTOM and below’ endorsed as the experience requirement for the rating is at least covered by the 1, 2 or 3 years of experience for that category.

L licences should be issued with at least one subcategory and the relevant aircraft rating.

Updated on 23/07/2021

Was this article helpful?