Competent authority


(a) General
A Member State shall designate a competent authority with allocated responsibilities for the issuance, continuation, change, suspension or revocation of certificates and for the oversight of continuing airworthiness. This competent authority shall establish documented procedures and an organisational structure.

AMC M.B.102(a)

1. In deciding upon the required airworthiness organisational structure, the competent authority should review the number of certificates to be issued, the number and size of potential operators, the number of approved maintenance organisations and CAMOs within that Member State, as well as the level of civil aviation activity, number and complexity of aircraft and the size of the Member State’s aviation industry.

2. The competent authority should retain effective control of important inspection functions and not delegate them in such a way that aircraft owners, operators, approved maintenance organisations and CAMOs, in effect, regulate themselves in airworthiness matters.

3. The set-up of the organisational structure should ensure that the various tasks and obligations of the competent authority are not relying on individuals. That means that a continuing and undisturbed fulfilment of these tasks and obligations of the competent authority should also be guaranteed in case of illness, accident or leave of individual employees.

(b) Resources
The number of staff shall be appropriate to carry out the requirements as detailed in this Section.

(c) Qualification and training
All staff involved in activities dealt with in this Annex shall be appropriately qualified and have appropriate knowledge, experience, initial training and continuation training to perform their allocated tasks.

AMC1 M.B.102(c)

1. Competent authority inspectors should have:

1.1. practical experience and expertise in the application of aviation safety standards and safe operating practices;

1.2. comprehensive knowledge of:

(a) relevant parts of implementing rules, certification specifications and guidance material;
(b) the competent authority’s procedures;
(c) the rights and obligations of an inspector;
(d) quality systems;
(e) continuing airworthiness management;
(f) operational procedures when affecting the continuing airworthiness management of the aircraft or the maintenance.

1.3. training on auditing techniques.

1.4. five years relevant work experience to be allowed to work as an inspector independently. This may include experience gained during training to obtain the subparagraph 1.5 qualification.

1.5. a relevant engineering degree or an aircraft maintenance technician qualification with additional education. ‘Relevant engineering degree’ means an engineering degree from aeronautical, mechanical, electrical, electronic, avionic or other studies relevant to the maintenance and continuing airworthiness of aircraft/aircraft components.

1.6. knowledge of a relevant sample of the type(s) of aircraft gained through a formalised training course including Fuel Tank Safety (FTS) training as described in Appendix XII to AMC M.A.706(f) and AMC1 M.B.102(c). These courses should be at least at a level equivalent to Part-66 Appendix III Level 1 General Familiarisation.
‘Relevant sample’ means that these courses should cover typical systems embodied in those aircraft being within the scope of approval.

1.7. knowledge of maintenance standards.

2. In addition to technical competency, inspectors should have a high degree of integrity, be impartial in carrying out their tasks, be tactful, and have a good understanding of human nature.

3. A programme for continuation training should be developed which provides for the inspectors, at regular intervals, to visit appropriate manufacturers and attend technical symposia as well as training or refresher courses to gain first-hand knowledge of new developments. As a general policy, it is not desirable for the inspectors to obtain technical qualifications from those entities under their direct regulatory jurisdiction.

AMC2 M.B.102(c) Aircraft continuing airworthiness monitoring (ACAM) inspectors

1. ACAM in-depth surveys should be performed by competent authority inspectors qualified in accordance with M.B.102(c).

2. ACAM ramp surveys may be performed by inspectors qualified for the technical tasks of ramp inspections in accordance with other Parts, or by inspectors qualified in accordance with M.B.102(c).

(d) Procedures
The competent authority shall establish procedures detailing how compliance with this Annex (Part-M) is accomplished.
The procedures shall be reviewed and amended to ensure continued compliance.

AMC M.B.102(d)

The documented procedures should contain the following information:
(a) The Member State’s designation of the competent authority(ies).
(b) The title(s) and name(s) of the manager(s) of the competent authority and their duties and responsibilities.
(c) Organisation chart(s) showing associated chains of responsibility of the senior persons.
(d) A procedure defining the qualifications for staff together with a list of staff authorised to sign certificates.
(e) A general description of the facilities.
(f) Procedures specifying how the competent authority(ies) ensure(s) compliance with Part-M.

Updated on 12/05/2021

Was this article helpful?